So you are racing along and you happen to be on Starboard tack. Now you learned Rule 10 and all is great but now you have 2 boats that are on starboard tack. Well there is a rule for when boats are overlapped and on same tack. Even if it is both on Port tack. Same thing. Leeward boat has the Right of Way over Windward boat. Leeward (Boat that is downwind compared to the other boat). Windward (Boat that is upwind from the other boat)
I will be using reference to www.finckh.org for these rules.
Rule 11: On the Same Tack, Overlapped
These situations illustrate 2 boats. Pink is downwind from Red so is Right of Way in here. So Red must keep clear of Pink.
This one they are coming from different direction so not as easy to see but still same rule.
Pink is the Right of Way boat and Red must keep clear of Pink.
So if you are in this situation and happen to be Leeward boat then if you can shout ‘Lee Up’ so the other boat is aware that you are right of way. But again I will repeat, Rule 14 avoiding contact still comes into play for all. even if you have right of way.
So what if boats are on the same tack then and boats or not overlapped?
We shall look at this next then
Yay for Sailing